Marketing Retarget Pixel

UMES bowlers eye 3rd straight national title

  • Thursday, March 28, 2013

    2013 MEAC bowling champions - photo by Megan RaymondINDIANAPOLIS- (March 28, 2013) - The Lady Hawks' bowling team is poised to swoop in for a "turkey" title in Detroit in mid-April.

    The eight-team field competing for the 2013 National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship was announced Wednesday by the NCAA Women's Bowling Committee.

    UMES has won the Division 1 national championship the past two years. A bowler who rolls three strikes in a row achieves what is known in the sport by the quirky term "turkey," so the UMES squad is positioned to make more history in collegiate bowling.

    The seeded field includes the following teams, all selected at large:

    1.Central Missouri5.Vanderbilt
    2.Maryland-Eastern Shore6.Sam Houston State
    4.Arkansas State8.Fairleigh Dickinson

    UMES ended its current season on a roll, winning the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference tournament title. Stalwart senior Anggie Ramirez is also among eight finalists for national "Bowler of the Year" honors.

    Ramirez this season averaged 213 pins-per-game (out of a maximum score of 300) and was judged the MEAC's best all-around bowler.

    Competition for the 2013 national title begins with qualifying rounds in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams participating in the championship for a total of seven games.

    Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds. Teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double-elimination tournament. 

    In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a a10-frame game is bowled. A Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided by a tiebreaker using the Modified Baker format.

    The University of Detroit Mercy and the Detroit Sports Commission will host the championship, which will be held April 11-13 in Canton, Michigan.  Tickets can be purchased on prior to the championship.

    UMES won its second consecutive National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship in 2012 at Freeway Lanes in Wickliffe, Ohio defeating Fairleigh Dickinson in six games, winning the final game 203-176.  With the victory, Maryland Eastern Shore became the first team since 2004-05 to win back-to-back national titles.

    The championship finals will air on ESPNU Saturday, April 13 at 8 p.m. ET.  A tape-delay broadcast of the championship finals will air on ESPN Sunday, April 14 from 2 - 3:30 p.m. ET.

    This story was compiled from UMES PR office staff and NCAA reports.