University of Maryland Eastern Shore The 125th Anniversary
125th Anniversary
"Celebrating the Journey: The 125th Anniversary of UMES" 1886-2011




A Hawk's eye view ...

Aerial photography shows the evolution of a college campus that started as a modest 16-acre farm and grew into 745 acres, 17 of which were devoted in 2011 to the generation of energy collected by solar panels that follow the sun across the sky.

If a picture truly is worth a thousand words, as the cliché goes, here are 3,174.

Aerial 1941

This 1941 view captures Princess Anne College as it was starting to be transformed by three new three brick structures in the foreground - Bird Hall, J.T. Williams Hall (formerly Maryland Hall) and Kiah gymnasium. This photo might have been taken in the winter because it appears snow is under shrubbery and along the serpentine College Backbone Road.

Aerial 1955

By the mid-1950s, the Academic Oval began to define Maryland State College. Somerset and Harford, Wilson, Waters and Murphy halls were added along with Trigg Hall and a football field. Student cadets and a band are in formation between Somerset amd Murphy halls, which were men's and women's dorms, respectively.

Aerial 2010

The focal point of this University of Maryland Eastern Shore image from 2010 shows a tree-lined Academic Oval with Frederick Douglass Library and George Washington Carver science hall completing the configuration adjacent to iconic Trigg Hall. The remnant of College Backbone Road is visible behind the library, while Hazel Hall sits adjacent to the site where the old Kiah gym once stood. (Joey Gardner photo)

 


"Celebrating the Journey: The 125th Anniversary of the
University of Maryland Eastern Shore" 1886-2011